Academic Relations

Academic Awards

The  FBLS, on the advice of its Academic Committee (whose decision is final), awards  two academic prizes.

The UK Academic Award , for the UK

Le Prix Universitaire Robertson- Horsington , for France.

Since 2012, the aim of both these prizes has been to reward  universities offering joint-degree programmes which promote Franco-British legal understanding. Such study progammes merit both recognition and support for they enable law students, academics , lawyers and judges from both sides of the Channel to work together and to understand and appreciate both the Common Law and Civil Law legal systems and the very different methods of legal reasoning on which they are based.

The UK Academic Prize

The amount of the award is usually £1500. The recipient university undertakes to set up a fund and to award two prizes of £250 or one prize of £500 each year, for three consecutive years, to students who are to be chosen for their academic excellence but also for their strong motivation to help advance Franco-British legal understanding and relations.

Le Prix Universitaire Robertson-Horsington*

The amount of this memorial prize is £1000. The recipient university undertakes to set up a fund and to award  a prize of £200 each year, for five consecutive years, to students who are to be chosen for their academic excellence but also for their commitment to promoting Franco-British legal understanding and strengthening the historical ties of friendship  linking the UK and France.

* History of the prize

Simon Horsington, a Board member of the Society (and one of its founding members) generously donated the funds to establish this prize in 2004. The prize was to mark the centenary of the Entente Cordiale between France and the United Kingdom, and the 60th Anniversary of the Normandy landings and the liberation of France. It is named in memory of two members of the British Armed Forces (volunteers, 46 Commando Royal Marines, R.N.) who fought in Normandy for a Free France : H S Robertson (of Scone, Scotland, killed in France at Rots, 11 June, 1944), and F W G Horsington (of Wells, Somerset, died 1988).

Application and Procedure

Applications should consist in a written presentation of the joint-degree programme highlighting the strong points and achievements of the particular programme and showing how it enhances Franco-British legal understanding and relations. Applications must be received by the Academic Director of the FBLS by 30 September in each year.


Dr Vivienne Forrest

Academic Director


email :

and copy to  the Administrator FBLS

email :

Publication of Award Winners

The names of award winners and institutions will be published on the website of the Society and remain there until the next awards are made. The institution will then be added to the list of past recipients.

2017 – Université Toulouse1 Capitole recipient of the Prix Universitaire Robertson-Horsington

2015 Recipient of Prix Universitaire Robertson-Horsington

Université de Rennes 1.

2015 Recipients of the student winners of our academic prizes

Laura Gray, University of Aberdeen

Mathilde Montaubin, Université Paris1 Panthéon-Sorbonne

Past Recipients of Awards

Recipients of FBLS prizes and awards include the following prestigious institutions. Some universities have received more than one award.

University of Aberdeen

University of Cambridge

University of East Anglia

Ecole des Avocats, Lyon

University of Edinburgh

University of Kent

King’s College London

Kingston University

University of Leicester

University of Manchester

University of Newcastle

University of Nottingham

University of Oxford

Université Paris1 Panthéon-Sorbonne

Queen Mary, University of London

Université de Rennes1

Wales, University of Swansea


Student prize winners 2014

Kimberly Neale : University of Aberdeen

Alice Debarre     : Université Paris1 Panthéon-Sorbonne



Aller à la barre d’outils